Abu Dhabi - UAE
+603 2380 4560 SynergenOG Sdn Bhd
+65 861 84 148 Synergen Oil & Gas Pte. Ltd
+971 56 232 5400 SynergenOG
+62 2150 897100 PT. SynergenOG Indonesia
+44 1224 618460 Synergen Oil & Gas UK Limited
+673 233 9270 SynergenOG (B) Sdn. Bhd.
+91 9995457949 Synergen Energy LLP

What is the current IEC standard for FMEA and FMECA?

The current IEC standard is IEC 60812, 3rd Edition, August 2018 – Failure modes and effects analysis (FMEA and FMECA)

This document explains how failure modes and effects analysis (FMEA), including the failure modes, effects and criticality analysis (FMECA) variant, is planned, performed, documented and maintained and addresses the following:

-Describes the principles
-Provides the steps in the analysis
-Gives examples of the documentation
-Provides example applications

This edition includes the following significant technical changes with respect to the previous edition:

-the normative text is generic and covers all applications;
-examples of applications for safety, automotive, software and (service) processes have been added as informative annexes;
-tailoring the FMEA for different applications is described;
-different reporting formats are described, including a database information system;
-alternative means of calculating risk priority numbers (RPN) have been added;
– a criticality matrix-based method has been added;
-the relationship to other dependability analysis methods has been described.

About the author

Happy to Help !